Mobile Menu

Genomics week in brief: Week ending 22nd May

Delve into all the latest news and research surrounding genomics with this week’s genomics week in brief.

Top stories from the past week

  • A preprint article has highlighted the importance of capturing genetic variation in the Middle East to improve clinical annotation of the human genome. (Ramaswamy et al, 2021)
  • Scientists have mapped gene changes underlying brain and cognitive decline in ageing and Alzheimer’s disease. (Adewale et al, 2021)
  • A recent study has shown that blocking TGFβ1 could improve haematopoiesis in patients with acute myeloid leukaemia. (Jäger et al, 2021)
  • Researchers have created a genome-wide atlas of developmental alternative splicing changes in seven organs across six mammal species and chicken. (Mazin et al, 2021)
  • For the first time, researchers have sequenced the entire genome from the skull of Peştera Muierii 1 – a woman who lived 35,000 years ago in today’s Romania. (Svensson et al, 2021)
  • A new genetic analysis has revealed a class of rare genetic mutations that may influence the severity of symptoms in people with autism. (Koire et al, 2021)
  • Scientists at the University of Zurich have modified a common respiratory virus to deliver genes for cancer therapeutics directly into tumour cells. (Smith et al, 2021)
  • A recent study has identified a tumour marker that may be used to predict which breast cancer patients will develop resistance to endocrine therapy. (Punturi et al, 2021)
  • Researchers have found specific influenza targets that could be used to better protect Indigenous populations from experiencing severe influenza disease via a universal, T cell-based vaccine. (Hensen et al, 2021)
  • A study has revealed new insights about the CRTC3 protein – a genetic switch that researchers could target to treat melanoma. (Ostojić et al, 2021)

Events

  • Join us for the next webinar in our series – ‘Genomics in Drug Discovery & Development’. In this webinar, we explore how diverse datasets can be leveraged for drug target discovery. It is taking place on Thursday 27th May at 3pm BST/4pm CEST/10am EST. Register here to watch the webinar live or on-demand.
  • Join us tomorrow (Tuesday 25th May) at 3pm BST/4pm CEST/10am EST for a one-off webinar – ‘Single Cell Sequencing: A New Dimension in Cancer Diagnosis and Treatment’. This webinar will provide a case study on single-cell profiling of tumour heterogeneity. It will also outline the new single-cell technologies that were used for this study. Register here to watch the webinar live or on-demand.

Reports


More on these topics

Genomics / Single cell / Week in brief

Share this article