Mobile Menu

Genomics week in brief: Week ending 15th May

In the latest genomics week in brief, we have summarised all of the most recent and exciting genomics news and research.

Top stories from the past week

  • Researchers have developed a machine-learning technique that can identify epigenetic drivers of various cancers. (Pan et al, 2021)
  • New research has found that many oesophageal cancers can turn on ancient viral DNA that was embedded in our genome hundreds of millions of years ago. (Wu et al, 2021)
  • Researchers have developed a spatial atlas of early-stage lung cancer and surrounding normal tissue at single-cell resolution, providing a key resource for studying tumour development and identifying novel therapeutic targets. (Sinjab et al, 2021)
  • A new study has shed light on the genetic prehistory of populations in modern Italy through the analysis of ancient individuals from the Bronze Age transition. (Saupe et al, 2021)
  • Gladstone researchers have fine-tuned CRISPR-Cas9 genome editing to work on human immune cells called monocytes. (Hiatt et al, 2021)
  • Scientists have developed a novel genetic sensor – CopyCatcher – which harnesses CRISPR-based gene drive technology to detect when a genetic element has been copied precisely from one chromosome to another throughout cells in the body.  (Li et al, 2021)
  • Using metagenomic sequencing, researchers have identified changes in the gut microbiome that occur after spinal cord injury. (Du et al, 2021)
  • New findings have revealed epigenetic changes that are unique to B cells and B cell subtypes that subsequently drive their fate. (Mahajan et al, 2021)

In other news

  • Pfizer has enrolled the first UK participant into the global Phase 3 investigational gene therapy study for Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy. (Duchenne UK, 2021)

Events

  • Join us for the next webinar in our series – ‘Genomics in Drug Discovery & Development’. In this webinar, we explore the different technologies biopharma is leveraging for functional genomics studies. It is taking place on Thursday 20th May at 3pm BST/4pm CEST/10am EST. Register here to watch the webinar live or on-demand.
  • Join us on Tuesday 25th May at 3pm BST/4pm CEST/10am EST for a one-off webinar – ‘Single Cell Sequencing: A New Dimension in Cancer Diagnosis and Treatment’. This webinar will provide a case study on single-cell profiling of tumour heterogeneity. It will also outline the new single-cell technologies that were used for this study. Register here to watch the webinar live or on-demand.

Reports


More on these topics

CRISPR / Genomics / Single cell / Week in brief

Share this article